New Flood Maps for Willacy County

Local News

New flood maps become effective in Willacy County on April 5, 2017.  The maps include the cities of Lyford, Raymondville and San Perlita, and unincorporated areas of Willacy County. Residents are encouraged to examine them so they can determine their need to buy flood insurance. By knowing their risks, individuals and community leaders can make informed decisions about building and development.

Most homeowner insurance policies do not cover the effects of flooding. Anyone without flood insurance runs the risk of uninsured losses to their homes, personal property and businesses. Flood insurance is available either through a private policy, or through the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The NFIP is a voluntary program administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Residents with federal mortgages must have flood insurance if the structures are in flood hazard areas. Flooding is the #1 natural disaster in the U.S. and only flood insurance covers these unexpected, damaging and sometimes fatal events.

Your local floodplain administrator can tell you if your community participates in the NFIP. He or she can also help you review the new flood maps. “We have to know what our risks are in order to prepare for them,” said FEMA Region 6 Administrator Tony Robinson. “Floods can happen anywhere.”

To contact a FEMA Map Specialist, call 1-877-FEMA MAP (1-877-336-2627) or

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Stay Connected


About Border Report

The mission of is to provide real-time delivery of the untold local stories about people living, working and migrating along the U.S. border with Mexico. The information is gathered by experienced and trusted Nexstar Media Group journalists hired specifically to cover the border.

Trending Stories

Hurricane Tracker Center

Inside RGV Politics

More Inside RGV Politics