Texas Laws on Underage Drinking
POSTED: Tuesday, February 17, 2009 - 8:43am
UPDATED: Thursday, February 25, 2010 - 11:32am
We hit the streets to find out what some Valley adults think of buying and serving alcohol to those too young to drink.
We dug up information from the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission on underage drinking laws. Here's what minors can face if caught drinking:
It's a misdemeanor, punishable up to $500 dollars. The minor will also have to attend alcohol awareness classes, do community service, and could lose their driver's license for up to 180 days.
Now, here are the penalties if an adult is caught serving or providing alcohol to a minor:
The violator could be fined up to $4,000 dollars, confinement up to one year in jail, or both. They will automatically have their driver's license suspended for 180 days upon conviction.
According to TABC, the adult only faces charges, if they knowingly provided alcoholic beverages on the premises owned by them. The TABC has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and adults who provide them the alcohol.