WESLACO, Texas - The Texas Department of Public Safety is beginning enforcement efforts across the state focusing specifically on violations of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law. These periodic enforcement operations by DPS Troopers are planned throughout the year at various locations in Texas.
The law was originally passed in 2003. It requires motorists to move over or slow down when police, fire, EMS, Texas Department of Transportation vehicles and tow trucks are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated.
The law states to vacate the lane closest to the applicable vehicles stopped on the side of the road (if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same direction), or slow down 20 mph below the speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 25 mph, the driver must slow down to 5 mph.)
Drivers should only move over if they can do so safely and legally; otherwise slow down.
Violations of the law can result in a fine of up to $200. The fine increases to $500 if there is property damage. If violators cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.
The following DPS operations are planned for the Rio Grande Valley:
- Willacy, Cameron and Hidalgo counties on Thursday, Feb. 22, from 6 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Willacy County, Friday, Feb. 23, from 3 p.m. to 1 a.m.
- Cameron and Hidalgo Counties on Friday, Feb. 23, from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.