Alton Memorial Jr. High School Science Bowl team qualifies for national competition

Alton Memorial Jr. High School Science Bowl team qualifies for national competition
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 11:07am

Two Science Bowl teams from Alton Memorial Jr. High School (AMJH) were turning heads this past weekend at the Regional Middle School competition, where they went up against teams from a 13 county area, including some well-known magnet schools and private schools. At the end of the day, one of the AMJH teams was crowned the regional champions and will now advance to the National Science Bowl Competition to be one of four middle school teams representing Texas.

The second team consists of: Electra Cavazos, Emily Barragan, Priscilla Quintero, Perla Del Angel, Mayra Flores.

The teams were led by coaches: Jesus Barrera, Robert Granados, Sammy Rivera.

This Science Bowl is hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy. The National Science Bowl is a nationwide academic competition that test students’ knowledge in all areas of Science and Mathematics. The teams from diverse backgrounds and demographics are comprised of four students, one alternate, and a teacher who serves as their coach. This competition was an intense fast paced head-to-head game-show style competition testing the knowledge of the students various Science disciplines including Biology, Chemistry, Life Science, Earth Science, Physics, Energy, and Math.

Both AMJH teams advanced into the Top 10 Round at the regional competition. Alton Memorial Team A ended winning the entire competition by beating out some well-known magnet schools and private schools for the final match. The students that participated from AMJH consisted of a variety of demographics being GT, Pre-AP, and Migrant students. The majority of the team was represented by the Robotics members that competed at HESTEC and the TCEA competition.

The National Science Bowl competition will be held in Washington, DC on April 24-28. The AMJH team will be one of four teams representing Texas. Only 50 middle school teams from around the country advance to the national competition.

Our regional Science Bowl champs are (left to right): Nancy Olvera, Maximo Briones, Carlos Hernandez, Enrique Cantu, Alejandro Martinez.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment